Prachanda elected 39th Prime Minister of Nepal

Kathmandu, Aug 3: CPN-Maoist Center chairman Pushpa Kamal Dahal 'Prachanda' has been elected as the Prime Minister of Nepal. He is the 39th Prime Minister of the country.

Speaker Onsari Gharti declared in the meeting of the Legislature-Parliament on Wednesday that lawmaker Prachanda has been elected to the post of Prime Minister of Nepal as per sub-Article 3 of Article 298 of the constitution.

Prachanda secured 363 votes out of 573 members of parliament present in today's meeting. Presently, there are 595 MPs in the 601-member House.

Of the 573 lawmakers present in the Legislature-Parliament, 363 voted in favour of Prachanda while 210 voted against.

House Speaker Onsari Gharti declared that 363 of the 595 MPs, the number of MPs in the Parliament at the time, were in favour of leader Prachanda, which is a majority and thus he has been elected the Prime Minister with a majority.

Before this, leader Prachanda had presented the information about his candidacy in Parliament as per the Article 298 (3) of the Constitution of Nepal and Rule 49 (4) of the Legislature-Parliament Regulations, 2073 BS. The Legislature-Parliament will next meet at 11 am on August 8.

Prachanda was the single candidate for the post.

Prachanda has been elected as the PM for the second time. He was elected PM in 2008.

More Articles



Copyright © 2014, All rights reserved. | Developed by: Young Minds