Congress in Darche; Maoist in Sahid Lakhan

Gorkha, May 18: Nepali Congress (NC)'s candidates Santa Bahadur Gurung (Santosh) and Fulmaya Gurung have been elected to the posts of Chairperson and Vice-Chairperson of Dharche rural municipality of Gorkha district, respectively.

Santosh Gurung defeated Laxman Gurung, a joint candidate of Naya Shakti Party and CPN-UML, in the race for chairperson by 51 votes.

NC candidate Santosh secured 1.709 against 1,656 by his close contender Laxman. In vice-chairperson too, NC candidate Fulmaya obtained 1,595 against 1,128 of CPN (MC).

Meanwhile, CPN (MC) secured its victory to the posts of chairperson and vice-chairperson at Shahid Lakhan rural municipality.

Ramesh Thapa secured 3,807 votes to win chairperson while his close contender Krishna Bahadur Ale of NC obtained 3,404 votes.

Likewise, CPN (MC) candidate Indira Tiwari elected to the vice-chairperson with 3,798 votes. Her nearest rival Sharmeela Shrestha of NC secured 3,575 votes.

Earlier, NC has secured its wins in Chumnubri, Siranchowk, Ajirkot and Gandaki rural municipalities.

Vote count is underway in Bhimsen, Arughat and Sulikotrural municipalities and in Gorkha and Paluntar municipalities. RSS

More Articles



Copyright © 2014, All rights reserved. | Developed by: Young Minds