Four women vying for the post of Mayor

Kakarvitta, May 27: Four women representing different parties in Jhapa are vying for the post of Mayor and Chair of municipality and rural municipality in the district. Election here is scheduled to be held under the second phase of local elections on June 14.

Accordingly, CPN-UML has decided to post Menuka Kafley for the post of Mayor of Kamal municipality while the NC is putting forward the candidacy of Fulmati Rajbansi to the post of Chair of Gaurigunj rural municipality.

Of the 15 local levels in Jhapa, Congress has finalised candidates for eight local levels while UML has completed the list of candidates for nine levels. However, most of the remaining posts have in the post of deputy Mayor or Vice-chair. CPN (MC) and RPP have chosen women to stand for the deputy posts only across the district.

Naya Shakti Party Jhapa has decided to nominate Panita Dhakal and Devkala Prasain to the post of mayor of Mechinagar and Arjundhara municipality.

There are a total of 31 parties registered in the district. RSS


More Articles



Copyright © 2014, All rights reserved. | Developed by: Young Minds