ECDC submits report with 165 constituencies for federal polls

By A Staff Reporter

Kathmandu, Aug. 31:
The Electoral Constituency Determination Commission (ECDC) has fixed 165 electoral constituencies for the elections to the House of Representatives.
In the second Constituent Assembly election held in 2013, people had elected their representatives from 240 constituencies.
A five-member commission led by former Supreme Court justice Kamal Narayan Das submitted the report of the Commission to Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuba at the Prime Minister’s official residence in Baluwatar this evening.
The new constitution has made a provision of a commission to delineate the constituencies. The commission was formed on July 20.
The commission members included Madhav Adhikari, Dr Bishwa Kalyan Parajuli and Ganesh Raj Karki. Begendra Raj Sharma Poudel was the member secretary.
The number of constituencies for provincial assemblies will be double the number of constituencies for the House of Representatives as the constitution says there will be 165 federal level constituencies and exactly double (that is, 330) for provincial
The Election Commission had been asking the government to make the report of the constituency delineation commission public.
According to Begendra Raj Paudel, spokesperson of the Commission, Kathmandu has 10 constituencies, the highest number of constituencies among all districts. Lalitpur has three and Bhaktapur two constituencies. There was no change or reduction made in the constituencies of Kathmandu owing to the increase in population.
After Kathmandu, Morang has the second largest number of constituencies at six.
According to the report, all Terai districts except for Bardiya have more than two constituencies whereas most districts of mountainous region have only one constituency.
Likewise, Jhapa, Dhanusha, Sarlahi, Rupandehi, and Kailali have five whereas Sunsari, Saptari, Siraha, Mahottari, Rautahat, Bara and Parsa have four constituencies each.
Similarly, three constituencies have been fixed for Lalitpur, Chitwan, Kaski, Kapilvastu, Dang, Banke and Kanchanpur districts. Bhaktapur, Ilam, Udayapur, Sindhuli, Kavrepalanchowk, Sindhupalchowk, Nuwakot, Dhading, Makawanpur, Gorkha, Tanahun, Syangja, North Nawalparasi, South Nawalparasi, Gulmi, Baglung, Bardiya, Surkhet and Dailekh each have two constituencies.
Districts like Paanchthar, Tehrathum, Dhankuta, Taplejung, Sankhuwasabha, Bhojpur, Khotang, Okhaldhunga, Solukhumbu, Ramechhap, Dolakha, Rasuwa, Lamjung, Manang, Mustang, Myagdi, Parbat, Palpa, Arghakhanchi, Pyuthan, Rolpa, Salyan, Eastern Rukum, Western Rukum, Jajarkot, Jumla, Dolpa, Mugu, Kalikot, Bajura, Achham, Humla, Doti, Bajhang, Dadeldhura, Baitadi, and Darchula have only one constituency.
These constituencies will come into effect for the up coming 26 provincial and federal polls.

More Articles



Copyright © 2014, All rights reserved. | Developed by: Young Minds