Temporary headquarters of 7 provinces proposed

By A Staff Reporter

Kathmandu, Jan. 3:The government on Tuesday proposed a draft of the temporary headquarters of the seven provinces.
In a joint draft prepared by the Office of the Prime Minister and the Council of Ministers (OPMCM) and the Ministry of Urban Development, the names of the temporary headquarters of the seven provinces have been proposed.
According to Joint Secretary and spokesperson at the OPMCM Hari Prasad Panthi, they have proposed and submitted the names of the temporary headquarters of the seven provinces to be tabled at the next Cabinet meeting.
The proposed temporary headquarters from Province No. 1 to 7 are: Biratnagar, Janakpur, Madhyapur Thimi of Bhaktapur, Pokhara, Dang, Surkhet and Dhangadi respectively.
Panthi said the draft was prepared after conducting field studies by officials of the OPMCM and the Ministry of Urban Development.
A team led by Joint Secretary Rajendra Poudel of the Ministry of Urban Development prepared the report after conducting field studies, Panthi said.
The government prepared the draft as per the recommendations made by Poudel’s team.
“The Cabinet meeting now can propose these places as temporary headquarters of each of the provinces after holding discussion on them,” Panthi said. The temporary headquarters of the provinces were recommended after analysing their physical infrastructure, availability of employees, communications, transportation and power supply.
As per the constitutional provision, the location of the headquarters can be altered with the consent of two-thirds majority of the assembly members of the concerned province.

More Articles



Copyright © 2014, Gorkhapatraonline.com. All rights reserved. | Developed by: Young Minds