CPN forms taskforce to finalise members of province committees

By A Staff Reporter

Kathmandu, Oct. 26: The ruling Communist Party of Nepal (CPN) on Thursday authorised a two-member taskforce to suggest on the work division of the central committee members and finalise the names of the party province committees.
A meeting of the party secretariat held at the Prime Minister’s official residence at Baluwatar today decided to assign the taskforce to submit its report on the issues in the next secretariat meeting.
Party general secretary Bishnu Prasad Poudel and Minister for Home Affairs Ram Bahadur Thapa Badal are the members of the taskforce.
According to Poudel, the taskforce will suggest the size of the seven province committees as well as the names of the members to be inducted in the committees.
While finalising the report to submit to the party secretariat, the current taskforce also will also take the report of the earlier taskforce that had recommended the names of the members for the province committees, Poudel stated.
Earlier on September 21, a meeting of the party secretariat had finalised the names of the in-charge, sub-in-charge, chairperson and secretary for the seven province committees.
Since the party secretariat had taken the decision regarding the formation of the province committees in the absence of senior leader Madhav Kumar Nepal and party spokesperson Narayan Kaji Shrestha, they had expressed their reservation on the issue.
Nepal had registered his written discontent with the party leadership while Shrestha had also verbally shared his differences with party chairmen KP Sharma Oli and Pushpa Kamal Dahal Prachanda over the issue.
During the two-day secretariat meeting held on Sunday and Monday, Oli and Prachanda had admitted their mistakes, stating that they would move ahead correcting the mistakes on the basis of suggestions and opinions of the disgruntled leaders.
The next secretariat meeting will approve the report submitted by the taskforce. The report then will be proposed in the forthcoming standing committee meeting of the party for giving it the final touch.
The standing committee meeting is scheduled for October 29 and 30.
Today’s secretariat meeting was also scheduled to discuss the functioning and effectiveness of the CPN-led government.
However, the meeting could not spend much time on the issue due to the time constraints of the top leaders, Poudel said.
Apart from chairmen Oli and Prachanda, secretariat members Jhala Nath Khanal, Madhav Kumar Nepal, Bamdev Gautam, Bishnu Poudel and Ram Bahadur Thapa Badal were present at the meeting while Ishwor Pokharel and Narayan Kaji Shrestha were absent.
Defense Minister Pokharel is currently on China visit.

More Articles



Copyright © 2014, Gorkhapatraonline.com. All rights reserved. | Developed by: Young Minds