President Yadav decorates various people with different medals

Kathmandu, April 20: President Dr Ram Baran Yadav today decorated different distinguished persons from various walks of life with different honours and medals, announced during last year's Republic Day.

At a programme organised at the Office of the President, Sheetal Niwas, today, President Yadav presented the 'Nepalratna' award to former Prime Minister Girija Prasad Koirala (posthumous). Daughter of late Koirala and former Deputy Prime Minister Sujata Koirala received the award on behalf the late leader Koirala.

Late Koirala had played crucial role for the initiation of the peace process and establishment of republicanism.

Similarly, the 'Mahaujjawal' (First Class) was conferred on former Chairman of the Council of Ministers, Khilraj Regmi, former Deputy Prime Minister, Shailaja Acharya (posthumous) and former minister, Bhim Bahadur Tamang (posthumous).

Former Ministers Madhav Prasad Ghimire, Modnath Prashrit, Riddhibaba Pradhan, Bidhyadhar Mallik, Madhav Prasad Poudel, Shanker Koirala, Chhabiraj Panta, Tek Bahadur Thapa Gharti, Ram Kumar Shrestha and Umakanta Jha were decorated with the 'Ujjwal Kirtimaya Rastradeep' (Second Class).

Likewise, President Dr Yadav also decorated judge at the Supreme Court, Kalyan Shrestha, Chief Election Commissioner Nil Kantha Uprety, Secretary General of the Legislature-Parliament Secretariat, Manohar Prasad Bhattarai, Chairman of the High-Level Administration Reform Suggestions Implementation Monitoring Committee, Kashiraj Dahal, election commissioners Dolakh Bahadur Gurung, Dr Ayodhi Prasad Yadav and Ila Sharma and former commissioner Dr Ram Bhakta PB Thakur with the same medal.

In like manner, the 'Suprabal Jana Sewashree' and 'Prabal Jana Sewashree' (from the first class to fifth class) were presented to different people. Most of them were former secretaries and employees of different government bodies.

Social worker Dr Pushpa Basnet, prof Dharmendra Kumar Karna, Prof Indra Prasad Tiwari, Nepali Ambassador to Saudi Arabia, Udayraj Pandey, Chairman of the Nepal Television, Neer Shah, musician Sambhujeet Baskota, academician Ram Krishna Duwal, lyricist Shyam Tamot, singers Haridevi Koirala, Komal Oli and Tika Pun, litterateur Shanti Chaudhary, Swami Krishna Dasji Maharaj, player Bharat Bahadur Bisural and journalists Aarati Chataut and Pratap Bista, among others, were decorated from the social sector.

The medals and decorations were announced on May 29, 2014.

Present on the occasion were the Vice-President, the Chief Justice, the Chairman of the Constituent Assembly (CA), the Deputy Prime Minister duo and chiefs of the Constitutional Bodies. The Ministry of Home Affairs has been making arrangement and recommendations regarding the medals.

More Articles



Copyright © 2014, All rights reserved. | Developed by: Young Minds