NCP founder General-Secretary Shrestha awarded ‘Nepal Ratna’

Kathmandu, April 14: The government has honoured founding General-Secretary of Nepal Communist Party (NCP) Pushpa Lal Shrestha with the 'Nepal Ratna'.

President Bidya Devi Bhandari today conferred various medals, awards, decoration and honours on people from different walks of lives, living or dead, in recognition of their contributions to the country amid a special function held at the Office of the President.

The prestigious award was conferred on Pushpa Lal Shrestha (posthumously). It was received by his son Umesh Lal Shrestha.

Likewise, the Maha Ujjawal Rasta Deep (first class) was presented to musician Ambar Gurung (posthumously) and cultural expert Satya Mohan Joshi.

Similarly, Chief Justice Om Prakash Mishra was presented with the Suprasidda Prabal Janasewa Shree (first class) while lyricist Dinesh Hari Adhikari, singer and artist Hari Prasad Rimal (posthumously) and historian Prof Dinesh Raj Panta were awarded the Sukirtimaya Rastadeep (third class).

Likewise, various 96 persons were presented the Suprabal Janasewa Shree (third class) while 162 with the Prabal Janasewa Shree (fourth class) and 74 with the Janasewa Shree (Fifth class).

Litterateur Jhamak Kumari Ghimire was presented with Kirtimaya Rastadeep (fourth class).

The government had made announcement of the awardees of the Constitution Day last year.

The honours, awards and decorations were conferred on the recipients in presence of vice-President, Prime Minister, Speaker of House, Chairperson of National Assembly, Deputy-Prime Minister, Ministers, Chief of the constitutional bodies and VIPs among others.

Likewise, President Bhandari conferred the Prabal Janasewa Shree (fourth class) on Chief Administrator of the National News Agency (RSS) Uttam Silwal. 

Silwal, who has been serving the state-owned agency for 20 years, has previously served as a deputy-chief reporter and executive administrator in the RSS.

More Articles



Copyright © 2014, All rights reserved. | Developed by: Young Minds