CJ administers oath of office and secrecy to five judges, CEC Thapaliya

Kathmandu, April 21: Five newly appointed Justices of Supreme Court took oath of office and secrecy before Chief Justice Cholendra Shumser Rana on the witness of President Bidya Devi Bhandari today.

The CJ administered oath to Justices Prakash Kumar Dhungana, Sushmalata Mathema, Kumar Regmi, Hari Prasad Phuyal and Dr Manoj Kumar Sharma amidst a special ceremony at the Office of President, Shital Niwas.

Among them, Dhungana and Mathema were the chief judges of High Courts while Regmi, Phuyal and Sharma are legal practitioners.

Similarly, newly elected Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) Dinesh Kumar Thapaliya also took oath of office and secrecy before the Chief Justice on the same occasion.

Similarly, National Inclusive Commission’s Chairman Dr Shanta Raj Subedi administered oath of office and secrecy to Commission’s newly elected member Bishnumaya Ojha who has long experiences of working as a rights activists. All the seven were appointed to the respective posts by the President last Friday.

The SC Justices were appointed on the recommendation of the Judicial Council and the appointments of CEC and the member of National Inclusive Commission were made on the recommendations of the Constitutional Council.

Vice President Nanda Bahadur Pun, National Assembly Chairman Ganesh Prasad Timilsina, ministers, chiefs of constitutional bodies, government senior officers and chiefs of security bodies were present on the occasion.

More Articles



Copyright © 2014, Gorkhapatraonline.com. All rights reserved. | Developed by: Young Minds