Ratnr breaking their 6 years hiatus with new albun

Mannu Shahi


Formed in 2006 by front-man Robin Tamang after his departure with Looza, the quartet Robin and The New Revolution released their debut entry the same year. Keta Keti grabbed everyone’s attention quickly as the issues raised in this album were rather different in context to what was being played and heard on mainstream platforms at that time. Although Robin and Looza themselves weren’t quite obscure either but their short-lived active period was quickly replaced by The New Revolution, as both of these groups were filled with just as skillful musicians and both were led by the same singer/songwriter.
Initially starting out with Rajesh on drums, Dipesh on guitars and Prabin on bass, this line-up of The New Revolution released two follow-up albums 13000 in 2008 and Hamro Desh in 2011. The band continued to tour in and outside the country whilst maintaining a high status in the mainstream Nepali music industry. Their raw flavors gained them a wide array of fan followings that connected to their music because of their dynamic performances, socially relatable content and their rock-star avatars. Tamang himself being a music enthusiast and supporter of the local Nepali underground music scene attracted more youths towards his sound by even working as an actor in a handful of Nepali movies.
And currently RATNR is again making headlines for the release of their fourth studio album Muglan that has been consecutively publicized in four different venues in four different dates around major cities of Nepal. However, the line-up for this entry is varied as gypsy guitar hero Hari Maharjan is seen on the guitar duties and Bijay Baral is found behind the rhythmic realm of the drums. The album is available online as the official launch show was already held on 24th July on Pokhara, followed by the second launch show on 26th at Damak then on 2nd August at Chitwan and finally yesterday evening in Times Square Restaurant and Lounge Bar, Baluwatar, Kathmandu. The show was opened by guest band Shree 3 and presented by Positive Vibes. The 8 tracks albums consists of songs USA, Timro Din, Parisian Girl, Muglan, Shine On Me, Jawaaf, Swantantra Jiwan, Freedom and Liberty priced at Rs 500 per copy.

More Articles



Copyright © 2014, Gorkhapatraonline.com. All rights reserved. | Developed by: Young Minds