Govt to take action against foul play in relief distribution

Kathmandu, June 19:The government has announced it will take action against those involved in distributing the inedible rice grains in different quake-hit districts. Prime Minister Sushil Koirala directed the concerned Ministers to take necessary action against those involved in such malpractices as the public and media have severely censured the distribution of uneatable food items during the hour of disaster.   

Minister for Information and Communications and spokesperson of the government, Dr Minendra Rijal, informed that the government would provide the relief to the last year's flood victims of Banke, Bardiya, Dang and Surkhet equal to the relief assistance provided to the quake victims as per Prime Minister Sushil Koirala’s commitment to provide the reliefs to the flood victims. 

In a today's meeting of the Council of Ministers, Minister for Physical Infrastructure and Transport Bimalendra Nidhi reported to the Cabinet that the agreement on the operation of vehicles among Bangladesh, Bhutan, India and Nepal.         

Minister Rijal clarified that the recent government decision of declaring the Kathmandu Valley as crisis-hit zone was only for removing the debris from the quake damaged structures however it was severally criticized by the media.

Similarly, the Cabinet has decided to appoint Dr Ram Jeevan Yadav as the Executive Director of the Open University Infrastructure Development Committee under the Ministry of Education.                     

Similarly, the meeting has decided to promote Mahendra Bhattarai and Abhimanyu as the Investigation Directors in National Investigation Department.

The meeting also extended the term of Executive Director of Nepal Administrative Staff College Punya Prasad Neupane.

Appellate Court Justice Lekh Nath Poudel has been appointed as the member of Foreign Employment Tribunal under the Ministry of Law, Justice, Constituent Assembly and Parliamentary Affairs.

The meeting also has promoted the Gazetted first class officers of the same Ministry.

More Articles



Copyright © 2014, All rights reserved. | Developed by: Young Minds